Comments are off for this post

Wells Fargo to Present First St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards

With great gratitude, the board of the St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards announced today that Wells Fargo Advisors has contributed $30,000 as the Presenting Sponsor of the inaugural St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards to be held on Sunday, May 28 at 7 p.m. at The Fabulous Fox Theatre.

“With lack of funding threatening performing arts programs at so many public high schools, Wells Fargo Advisors wants to do all that we can to celebrate theater and talented students who excel on stage,” said David Kowach, head of Wells Fargo Advisors. “Theater is an important part of human expression. It teaches empathy and confidence, and helps young people grow into the adults they want to become. We are excited to sponsor an event that will honor the arts as well as its brightest young performers.”

“We are so grateful to Wells Fargo Advisors for stepping up and taking a leadership role in this exciting new community event,” said Fox Performing Arts Charitable Foundation board president and Fox Theatre partner Mary Strauss. “We’re coming together to celebrate and recognize the talented young people and their teachers who are creating great musicals in high schools throughout our community.”

“Wells Fargo Advisors continues to be a leader in supporting the arts and arts education in St. Louis and throughout the U.S.,” commented Muny artistic director and executive producer Mike Isaacson. “We are so honored they have provided the support we needed to launch this marvelous program.”

The May 28 awards ceremony will include exciting performances by talented young local artists selected from 27 area high schools. Winners will be announced in 15 categories including an Outstanding Actress and an Outstanding Actor who will go on to compete in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards in New York City, presented by The Broadway League.

The schools participating in the 2017 St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards are Affton High School, Christian Brothers College, Chaminade College Preparatory School, Clayton High School, Cor Jesu Academy, Festus High School, Francis Howell Central High School, Ft. Zumwalt North High School, Grand Center Arts Academy, Jersey Community High School, Lafayette High School, Lindbergh High School, McCluer High School, Nerinx Hall, Normandy High School, Notre Dame High School, Parkway Central High School, Parkway North High School, Parkway South High School, Rockwood Summit High School, Rosati Kain High School, St. John Vianney High School, Take 3 Christian Theatre (home school co-op), Timberland High School, Villa Duschesne, Visitation Academy, and Westminster Christian Academy.

In the Fall of 2015, The Fabulous Fox Theatre, The Muny and the Fox Performing Arts Charitable Foundation announced a joint sponsorship of the first annual St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards. The National High School Musical Theatre Awards impacts more than 50,000 students annually who participate in regional high school musical theatre competitions sponsored by top professional theatres throughout the United States. A Best Actress and Best Actor winner from each of these regional competitions is sent to New York for a week-long theatre intensive of coaching and rehearsals with industry professionals in preparation for a one-night-only showcase on Broadway. At that time a panel of judges crowns the nation’s top performers. Also known as The Jimmy Awards, named for Broadway impresario James M. Nederlander, the program has been the catalyst for more than $1 million in educational scholarships. Presented by The Broadway League Foundation. For more information, please visit

Tickets for the May 28 event at The Fabulous Fox Theatre are $25 and may be purchased at